“Drivers, start your engines!” Time again for the world famous Daytona 500! Sunday, February 16th will mark the 62nd annual running of the Great American Race. Held at the Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida, the Daytona 500 kicks off the start of NASCAR season. Known as the NASCAR Super Bowl, it is the most prestigious of all the races.

View the thunderous flyover of the U.S. Air Force Thunderbirds — “America’s Ambassadors in Blue” — flying their signature “delta” formation… then watch two-time Daytona 500 winner Dale Earnhardt Jr. wave the green flag to begin the 500 mile race!

40 cars will compete for this sought-after victory… racing 200 demanding laps around the 2.5 mile tri-oval track. Race cars reach such high speeds… up to 200 mph… with 31° banking in turns… that restrictor plates need to be installed on all cars prior to the race to keep speeds in check. Excitement grows with each lap as the battle for first place intensifies. Last year’s champion Denny Hamlin won his second Daytona 500… holding off reigning champ Joey Logano and teammate Kyle Busch at a close finish. Winnings can run upwards of $1 million. Odds favor Joey Logano to win Daytona 500 2020.

Enjoy a pre-race concert featuring three-time Grammy award winner Darius Rucker. Be treated to luxury in the new $400 million expansion of the vintage speedway… making it the world’s first Motorsports Stadium. 101,000 newer, wider seats… improved sightlines… upgraded amenities… free Wi-Fi… all for a more immersive experience of this historic race. Tickets run $99 and up… and sell out nearly every year.

The Daytona 500 has a rich history. It had its beginnings in the Daytona Beach Road Course founded in 1902. The race course ran 2 miles of A1A along Daytona Beach Shores… making a turn onto the beach… with drivers completing the challenging return 2 mile loop on the sandy beach. Gamers can race this course in NASCAR Thunder 2004.

Over the years the Daytona Beach Road Course became famous for the 15 world land speed records that were set there. In 1927 British daredevil Sir Henry Segrave set a record speed in his Golden Arrow of 231 mph!

NASCAR (National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing) was formed in 1948 to protect both racers and race promoters. By 1959, a new superspeedway — Daytona International Speedway — was completed and held its first Daytona 500. This year marks the 62nd year of this celebrated race. Who will be the champion and take the checkered flag at this year’s Daytona 500?